Our Mission

The mission of the NCBWG is to promote the conservation of bats and their habitats in North Carolina through education and collaborative study, including the dissemination of information on research and policies.

Who We Are

The North Carolina Bat Working Group was formed in 2007. Our 1st meeting was held on Nov. 8 2007 and was hosted by the NC Wildlife Resources Commission in Raleigh, NC. Thirty-six people attended the meeting, including representatives from 6 universities, 3 federal agencies, 5 state agencies, 3 private companies, and 1 nonprofit organization.

At this meeting, it was decided that the working group should have an organization structure similar to NC PARC and 3 primary committees were established:

  • Education and Outreach
  • Research, Inventory, Monitoring, and Management
  • Policy and Regulation.

Each year since, the North Carolina Bat Working Group has had successful annual meetings with numerous attendees interested in bat research and education from around the state.

If you are interested in being added to the NCBWG email list, contact Mary Frazer (

Announcements & Information

SAVE THE DATE….BAT WEEK: Bat Chat! October 29th 10am-11am

Join us for a presentation about how cool bats are! Bat experts will discuss the importance of bat as pollinators, amazing bat facts, and what you can do to help bats. The presentation will be held on Zoom – stay tuned for information about how to register.  The presentation is targeted for elementary-aged kids and families, but anyone is welcome. Please share this with anyone who may be interested!  Brought to you by the NC Wildlife Resources Commission, the NC Museum of Natural Sciences, and the NC Bat Working Group.

Questions about bat houses or if you found a sick or injured bat, click here.

Bats and COVID-19: Currently, activities requiring direct contact with bats are temporarily suspended. See our Resources page for more information on bats, coronoviruses, and restrictions on activities.

NCBWG Officers

Co-chairs: Mary Frazer & Olivia Munzer Schaetz
Secretary: Katherine Cunningham
Treasurer: Janice Patten
Committee Chairs: Katherine Caldwell Etchison & Sue Cameron